My Buzz Word: Cold Brew

I’m a filthy caffeine addict. It’s true and I’m not sorry. I not only require but I love love love coffee. I’m finicky about the beans I buy and brew or where I choose to buy a cup of joe. My dream is to own a proper espresso machine in my kitchen. There is, in my mind, a very clear hierarchy of acceptable coffee shops and if you get me started on explaining it, I’m likely to go off on a rant.

IMG_6279

In the winter I brew my own coffee, one cup at a time, with a pour-over filter. I even make my own lightly sweetened pumpkin spice mix for an at-home “pumpkin latte.” In the summer, I make my own cold brew – and that’s what we will be talking about today. Cold brewing your own coffee is easy, yields a tasty result, and saves you money from having to buy fancy, overpriced coffee all of the time. There’s nothing worse than ordering an iced coffee and watching, cringing, as a barista pours hot brewed coffee over ice.

пиздец-пчёлы-живность-да-ну-нахуй-997686
What you’ll need
  • Ground coffee
  • A french press or measuring cup or a pitcher
  • A fine mesh strainer or cheese cloth or coffee filters
  • A tall glass
  • Ice
  • Simple syrup (optional, if you like your iced coffee sweetened – I don’t)
!!Plan ahead!! Cold brew coffee needs to sit for no less than 12 hours. In fact, I let mine go for 24. It yields a concentrated, caffeine-heavy, and less bitter product than letting hot coffee cool off or pouring hot brew over ice.
IMG_6281
I use a 12oz French Press by Bodum, which gets me one full plastic cup/tumbler of coffee with room for some ice (because, remember, this is strong stuff! letting it get watered might be a good idea!). For this amount, I use about 1/4-1/3 of a cup of grounds and then fill up the remaining space with water. For a larger pitcher, try 3/4 of a cup of grounds.
IMG_6277
Give the grounds and water a stir to make sure all of the coffee gets wet. Then cover the magical elixir and let sit for 18-24 hours (I wouldn’t recommend more). Once it’s ready the next day, you’ll want to strain the grounds from the water. There are several ways to do this. If you’re using a French Press, slowly push the plunger all the way down to trap most of the grounds in the bottom of the press. You will still want to filter the coffee further before drinking it. I recommend a second pour over a filter cone, cheesecloth, or paper filter.
IMG_6278
Pour over a glass full of ice and your sweetener of choice to make a magical, beautiful coffee unicorn for just pennies on the dollar. You’re going to love it. I’m sure.
IMG_6279
Leave a Reply

