Capclave Wrap-Up

This weekend, I attended Capclave, a genre readers’ and writers’ convention in Gaithersburg, MD. It was my second year at this event and I’ve already pre-registered for next year! Clearly, I enjoyed myself at the con, thanks as much to the company I kept as well as the programming of the convention.

small_dodo_transparent

I attended:

  • A Q&A session with Danielle Ackley-McPhail about publicizing you work
  • A workshop for Building an Adaptive Setting by David Keener
  • Panels on: Creating a Setting, Diversity, Anthologies, and dealing with Rejection Letters
  • The Worldcon bid party for New Orleans in 2018

Everything was a great combination of entertaining and informative and I took rather copious notes (which I’ll be combining with those of my writing group mates and turning into a useful post another day). For now, know that I recommend Capclave highly for a small, intimate setting, which provides plenty of opportunities to interact with writers and editors.

2 thoughts on “Capclave Wrap-Up

  1. David Keener says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed the workshop, “Creating an Adaptive Setting.” It’s fun to do a workshop where the light dawns on everybody at the end, as they learn how a well-built, interconnected setting can actually illuminate and inform their writing efforts. Another tool in your writer’s toolbox…use it well…

    Like

Leave a Reply

