“Diet” is a Four-Letter Word

I hate the word “diet.” It’s got so much of a weird body-shaming stigma to it! We diet because we don’t like our bodies the way they are, generally. It makes me uncomfortable.

And yet, I am part of this same cycle. Somewhat because of medications I’m on and also because I’ve been eating to comfort myself during bouts of pain flare ups and depression, I’ve put on a lot of weight over the past two years. I went from a size 10 to a size 16. I watched it happen. I let it happen.
IMG_4282
FullSizeRender 9
IMG_8914
I’m going to fix it – starting now.
I’m returning to a way of eating (see? I told you I hate the word “diet.”) that worked very well for me about 5 years ago. It’s called the Ketogenic Diet. It was originally developed to help epileptic patients (as was one of my most helpful medications… interesting.) but works well for long-term fat burning. It’s not “normal” body functioning but, rather, a sort of Life Hack for the metabolism.
665px-Ketone-general
I’m not going to go into the science because it’s kind of boring (hough I find it fascinating because bodies are cool and weird. ) but basically by eating almost no carbohydrates at all, you force the body to break up and burn its own fat storage. It’s different from starvation because most of the calories you consume come from fat.
So basically, I look insane, dumping heavy cream to my coffee and scarfing avocados, red meat, and cheeses. Burger with no bun, please! Extra cheese! Can you add mayo and bacon to that?
bacon
But it works for me, readers! My cholesterol numbers improve and my blood sugar levels are low and steady. It’s weird but true.
I’m making my pledge to this lifestyle change public because I want to be held accountable for my own progress. And here’s the most important thing to remember: if I cheat, I am only cheating myself.
I owe myself better than that.
Leave a Reply

