It Figures…

Luck is a fickle thing, isn’t it? After several years of busting my butt to write short fiction and several manuscripts, I finally changed tack and found a 40-hours-a-week job that I really enjoy. I swear to you, the moment I accepted the job offer, my writing career suddenly started picking up some steam.
SONY DSC
One short story is in consideration for publication, another is in the hands of an editor, and I just received a request for my full manuscript from a literary agent. Wow! I’m really excited about all of this good news, of course, but I can’t help but roll my eyes at the timing of it all. The universe clearly has a sense of humor.
I’ve been struggling to find/make time to write in the time around my work and other obligations. I wish I could be that wise and savvy author who somehow manages to do it all and has helpful tips about making your life and writing work together – but mostly I’m struggling to get enough sleep, cook proper meals, and take good care of the birds in the small amounts of free time that I have!
So I have to ask you guys: how do you do it? How do you manage to make time to write? What are your magical tricks to balance everything about your lives and your craft? Help meeeee!
Leave a Reply

