Experiences vs Stuff

As my last post addressed, we just moved to a new place a few weeks ago. And, with moving, comes the realization that you own a lot of stuff. Maybe too much stuff. Me? I’m just on the cusp of too much (I craft and sew and we seamstresses are notorious packrats). I’m not terribly sentimental most of the time, though, so throwing out things that I won’t ever use again isn’t terribly hard for me.

stuff

For me, the feeling of owning too much stuff that weighs you down (and speaking of weighing you down, can we talk about how books weigh?) does rub me the wrong way. I used to think of myself as nomadic but, lately, I just keep acquiring things. Lots of things.

There’s a sort of movement going around, with plenty of articles and blog posts to go with it, that experiences are more important than stuff. And while I don’t disagree on principle with the idea that doing can be better and more interesting than owning, I can’t help but feel that the idea of experiences > things is pretty classist (not to mention ableist – but that’s another rant for another day). Some of us simply can’t afford to eat at fancy restaurants, take amazing vacations, or see films and plays.

camping

So don’t let people make you feel bad if you prefer stuff. Or if you prefer experiences. Aren’t they both perfectly fine? And isn’t what makes you happy more important than fighting about the value of doing vs. having?

Leave a Reply

