12 Month Plan

Next year, around this time, I will probably be packing up to move to Oregon. It’s a pretty big change from D.C. – and I’ll be driving cross-country to make that change. I have to get my car out there somehow and I’ll have to transport the birds myself (I won’t risk them getting hurt or worse being treated as cargo by an airline).

I just couldn’t live with myself if anything happened to these two. They’re my babies! And, yes, I’m a crazy bird lady, and I’m not at all sorry about it.

I’ll be taking on some debt to move in a few weeks, plus lawyer’s fees for my divorce, and I’ll need to cobble together all of my resources to work a few remote gigs from home and to make it all work for the next year. I don’t know how I’m going to do it, but I know that I am. Somehow.

I’m what I would call cautiously optimistic at this point. My life has fallen apart spectacularly since July (divorce, physical abuse, surgery, my mother falling incredibly ill) but I’ve still kept my head level and kept going forward.

justkeepswimming

Dory knows what’s up. I’ve just gotta be smart and keep on swimming.

Leave a Reply

