What Blogging Has Taught Me

I run two blogs: this one and Beerily Thus, which updates Mondays and Fridays with beer reviews, knowledge, commentary, and more. I’ve been working on this blog for about three years now (it used to have a different name, but I shifted everything that I could over to here roughly two years ago) and Beerily Thus has been going just since November 2016.  And let me tell you, pumping out new and original content three times a week in addition to all of the other writing and critique that I’m doing tends to go over better some weeks than others.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

  1. Titles are hard. Seriously. I’ve never been good when it comes to naming stuff and that hits home every time that stupid subject line sits there, blank, mocking me. You’ll note that this week’s title is… uninspired.
  2. Planning ahead is crucial, but I am very bad at it. I tend to forget that big holidays are coming up until just a few days before they arrive, which is why I almost never have seasonally appropriate posts.
  3. Queuing posts up in advance is a godsend. WordPress lets you write and then schedule posts, making it possible to keep things updating regularly no matter how busy life gets, when I’m traveling, or even if I forget what day of the week it is.
  4. Writing regularly, even when I don’t want to or don’t feel like it or am busy or am burnt out is important to do. I’ve preached about it before, and I’ll say it again: write every single day.
  5. List posts are easier to write when you’re suffering from writer’s block.

guilty

Leave a Reply

